India win third Test against NZ, clinch series

first_imgIndia beat New Zealand by an innings and 198 runs in the series-deciding third Test on Tuesday and clinched the Test series. The first two Tests, in Ahmedabad and Hyderabad, were draws.SCORECARDPacer Ishant Sharma and spinner Harbhajan Singh took three wickets apiece. All-rounder Suresh Raina and spinner Pragyan Ojha also contributed with key scalps in the first session of play today.India had declared its first innings at 566-8 in reply to New Zealand’s first innings score of 193.New Zealand, resuming at 24-1, suffered an early setback as last match’s double-centurion Brendon McCullum was trapped lbw by Ojha for 25, adding just 10 runs this morning.After dismissing McCullum with the last delivery of his second over, Ojha struck again with the first one of his third.Martin Guptill was given lbw by umpire Simon Taufel, but replays showed that the ball had pitched well outside leg-stump. New Zealand fell to 38-3 and could not wriggle out of the grip of the spinners as Harbhajan replaced Ojha in the attack.Harbhajan dismissed night-watchman Gareth Hopkins when Gautam Gambhir took a fine bat-pad catch lunging to his right at short-leg. He also got the wicket of Ross Taylor, caught by substitute Cheteshwar Pujara in the same position, but the batsman was not happy with the bat-pad decision.Kane Williamson was clean bowled by Ishant and then Raina came on to bag two wickets in two overs with his innocuous off-spin. Jesse Ryder, batting with a runner due to a calf injury, gave a catch to Sharma at mid-off. Raina then trapped captain Daniel Vettori lbw.advertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply